In cyberspace, nobody can hear you. Scream.

July 13, 2006

I am fortunate enough to work for a company in which blogging is encouraged. We have an internal blog to which anyone in the company can post. We have the techie talent who have developed tools to aggregate suitably-tagged external blogs onto our internal blog. If you look, this post is tagged “work-friendly”. That means it’ll get posted automatically to the internal company blog. It’s really quite a nice situation to be in. Before starting my current job, I hadn’t really thought much about blogging, but had heard of it. I had certainly never considered posting my inane drivel for the perusal of the world

So I’ve been posting fairly regularly to the internal blog over the course of the past couple of years. I don’t know what spurred me on to do it (well, maybe I do), but the other night, I decided to Go External.

So here I am, and I’m struck by one terrible realisation. I have absolutely no idea what to write. In the old days of internal blogging, I could churn out a few salient stats about the application on which I work, mix in the odd dig about the quality of the slop they serve up in the staff canteen, and intersperse it with the occasional misanthropic diatribe against the people who live in the flat above me.

But now I’m blogging to the outside world, the fact that I have nothing in particular to say is – to be honest – a bit of a drag. Not least of all because I work with some very successful bloggers – people who carry immense respect and a loyal following, people with revolutionary ideas, and also with Dec.
I desperately crave a loyal army of adherents to the Mushy Mantra, but there’s a tiny niggling part of me that feels they’ll need an awful lot more than this if they’re going to sell up their houses, offer me a tithe, and move with me to my walled, fenced, and heavily armed compound in Belize.

Bah

One Response to “In cyberspace, nobody can hear you. Scream.”

  1. MushyMajor Says:

    So, you’ve just spent 4 paragraphs and 340 words (excluding title), telling the World that you have nothing to say. Excellent work.

    Yes, before you ask, I did paste that into MS Word and do a word count.


Leave a Reply

