The down-side of owning a Mini

August 7, 2007

I own one of the new Minis. A beautiful British Racing Green Cooper S with a white roof, and white bonnet stripes. I don’t think it’s any great exaggeration to say that I love my Mini. I like to think that if it could express emotions, my Mini would love me. All in all, it’s a great man-car relationship. Given even half a chance, I’ll happily orate to anyone in earshot the glory of its acceleration, the sound of the whine from the supercharger, or its shit-to-a-footballer’s-knee road-holding.

Today, though, I experienced my first less-than-100% experience with the car. After leaving rugby practice, and on walking back out to the car park, a friend called out to me, asking if I’d brought my car or not. Before I even knew that I said it, I’d blurted out “Yes – it’s over there, hidden by the Vauxhall Corsa.” Dammit.

One Response to “The down-side of owning a Mini”

  1. Mushymajor Says:

    The upside of course is that when other drivers see a mini, they automatically think it’s a girl driving and take appropriate evasive action!!


Leave a Reply

